Curly Education 101

Double Duty Products

Hey Curly Naturals,

As Naturals, expensive products are synonymous with our journey. That is why I like double duty products, I remember before Tresemme Naturals got discontinued, my hair regime(n) practically revolved around the beloved conditioner. I used it as a rinse out conditioner, a leave in and when I was lazy a co-wash, but I digress..

So you might ask what is a double duty product? Double duty products are products that serve 2 or more functions/ duties in one product. I have found that not only do they save time and money but with Cape Town’s water shortage they also save water.

 

Design Essential Leave in Detangling Conditioner

Design Essentials Leave in Detangling Conditioner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So not only does this conditioner make de tangling easier you also don’t have to rinse it out afterwards (see I told you they save water 🙂 )

My experience was not “out of this world, oh my word I need to buy it now”, it did have a decent amount of slip but it wasn’t as moisturizing. I am not going to rule it out completely because it was only a sample sachet that I used so until I find the coins (damn this range is expensive!!!) to actually buy a full ass bottle I’ll reserve my final verdict for that day.

Afrobotanics Deep penetrating moisturising conditioner.

Afrobotanics Deep penetrating moisturizing conditioner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While I don’t really regard this as a true double duty product, by my definition it can serve 2 functions so why not? This conditioner can be used as both a normal rinse out conditioner or as a deep conditioner (my main use). I fell inlove with this product just based on the ingredients, its one of those good quality reasonably priced products. Because I do see this product as an investment I rarely use as a rinse out conditioner but if you wanted to the option is there for you to.

Click on the FB post to get to the review I done on Magical Messy Me’s blog.

 

Twisted Sista Leave in/ Deep conditioner

This little gem I discovered in a prize I won at the MHS 2018, I was very excited to find and use it. From the research that I have done this product is only available in sachet form and gives you about 2 uses my hair is a few millimetres past bra strap length in and it covered my hair adequately. Unlike other Double duty products this one cannot be used as a 2 in 1, it does require you to rinse it out  this I only found out afterwards….

You can either use it as a deep conditioner and then rinse it out or use as a leave in conditioner.(much like the Afrobotanics conditioner ⬆️)

Aunt Jackie’s Girls Super Duper Softening Conditioner Soft & Sassy

Girls Super Duper Softening Conditioner Soft & Sassy via Clicks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This product I found very early on in my journey. Unlike the other products that I have mentioned in the blog mostly have 2 functions but this one… this one.. baybay!! This one has 3 functions I’m not pulling this out of thin air, it clearly states on the jar that you can use it as a co-wash, leave in and deep conditioner. So yes this is a complete money and time saver heck you can do your whole wash day using this product. My personal experience when I used this product wasn’t that great I remember that using it as a deep conditioner was lightweight it didn’t pack a punch in the moisture replenishment department and was pretty much  Meh.. Although I might just buy it again because of this blog post.

Cantu Leave-in Conditioning repair cream 

 

Cantu Leave in Conditoning repair cream image via za.carethy.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saved the best for last.
When Cantu launched in South Africa this was one of the first products I tried in their range and also one that I saw was featured quiet a bit (good job on their marketing)
This all rounder has become a staple in hair regime(n) and my stash, I accumulate my Clicks Club points to make it easier on my pocket. I use it as a deep conditioner, once my DC session is done I continue with my LOC method, without rinsing out

You can use this product a s styler, a deep conditioner and a leave in. This product is what got me through the dreaded Cape Town drought.

 

I have always been a fan of double duty products because they are economical, time saving and in some cases use less water.

Have you ever heard of Double duty products, do you use them and what are your takes?

SACG 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.